In Windows, when we delete a file, it’s actually moved to recycle bin instead of really being deleted from the disk. This provides a safe backup if we have deleted a file accidentally. This post tries to answer some frequently asked questions about recycle bin.
When I delete a file, it’s getting deleted immediately. I don’t see it in Recycle bin.
Open recycle bin properties, and disable the check button ‘Don’t move files to recycle bin. Remove files immediately when deleted‘
When I delete a file, it does not ask me for confirmation. How do I make Windows to ask for confirmation?
In recycle bin properties, select the check button ‘Display delete confirmation dialog’
These two settings are shown in the below snapshot.
Group policy settings:
Administrators can hide Recycle bin icon from users desktops by configuring the below setting in group policy editor. Navigate to the path ‘ User Configuration -> Administrative templates -> Desktop‘. In the right side pane, look for the setting ‘Remove recycle bin icon from desktop’. Enable this setting.
The recycle bin properties are stored in the below registry value.
registry value: ShellState Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer
This is a binary value, you should be careful while editing the data.